top of page



Wood Top

All Thumb Fun Kalimbas have two rows of keys tuned an octave apart, which gives them a two octave range (large size have over two octaves).


The major scales are diatonic (do-ra-mi-fa-so-la-ti-do)
C is the lowest tone scale, D is a step higher, E is one higher and G major is the higher toned scale.

Pentatonic, which is an easy to play, fluid scale, is created by omitting the 4th and 7th step from the diatonic scale.

Example: C pentatonic's notes are C D E G A C (F and B are removed).

C Major

D Major

E Major

G Major